中国国家知识产权局 (CNIPA)

向中国申请专利附图说明规则应参照《中华人民共和国专利法实施细则》
以下是与说明专利图纸相关的重要文章。

 


第十七条

  •   发明专利或者实用新型专利申请的说明书应当写明发明或者实用新型的名称,该名称应当与请求书中的名称一致。描述应包括以下内容:

  • ……

  • (4) 附图说明:对附图中的每幅图进行简要说明,如有的话;和

  • (五)实施发明或者实用新型的方式:详细描述申请人为实施发明或者实用新型所设想的最佳选择方式;在适当的情况下,这应以示例的形式进行,并参考附图(如果有的话)。

  • ……

  • 实用新型专利申请的说明书,应当包括表示申请保护的产品的形状、结构或者它们的组合的附图。

第十八条

  • 发明或者实用新型的附图应当按照“图1、图2、……”的顺序依次编号排列。

  • 发明或者实用新型说明书正文中未提及的附图标记不得出现在附图中,附图中未包含的附图标记不得在说明书正文中提及。同一复合材料部件的参考符号应在整个申请文件中一致使用。

  • 附图中除不可缺少的文字外,不得有其他注释。

第十九条

  • 权利要求中使用的科学技术术语应当与说明书中使用的一致,权利要求中可以有化学式或数学式,但不得有附图。除非绝对必要,否则它们不应包含对说明书或附图的引用,如:“如说明书的……部分所述”或“如图……所示”。

  • 权利要求书中提到的技术特征,为了便于理解权利要求,可以在说明书附图中引用相应的附图标记,这些附图标记应跟随在相应的技术特征之后并放在括号内。附图标记不应被解释为限制权利要求。

第二十三条

说明书的摘要可以包含最能表征本发明的化学式;专利申请中附有附图的,申请人应当提供最能体现发明或者实用新型技术特征的图形。图形的比例和清晰度应使得尺寸线性缩小到 4cm × 6cm 的复制品仍能清楚地区分所有细节。摘要正文不超过300字。摘要中不得有商业广告。

第二十七条

  • 申请人寻求颜色保护的,应当提交彩色图画或者照片。

  • 申请人应当就需要保护的外观设计产品的标的物提交有关的图纸或者照片。

第二十八条

外观设计的简要说明应当标明包含该外观设计的产品的名称、用途和外观设计的主要特征,并指定最能体现外观设计主要特征的图纸或者照片。如果省略了包含该设计的产品视图或寻求同时保护颜色,则应在简要说明中予以说明。

第三十一条

……

申请人就其外观设计专利申请主张外国优先权,而在先申请中未对该外观设计作出简要说明的,其享有优先权不受影响申请人依照本细则第二十八条的规定提交的简要说明,不超出在先申请的附图或者照片所示的范围。

……

第三十五条

……

两项以上外观设计作为一项申请提交的,应当连续编号,编号应在该外观设计产品的附图或者照片名称之前。

……

第三十八条

收到由请求、说明书(实用新型申请中必须包括附图)和一项或多项权利要求组成的发明或实用新型专利申请后,或外观设计专利申请包括对请求书、表示外观设计的一幅或者多幅附图或者照片以及简要说明的,国务院专利行政部门应当给予申请日,发给申请号,并通知申请人。

 

第三十九条

有下列情形之一的,国务院专利行政部门不予受理,并通知申请人:

(一)发明或者实用新型专利申请中没有请求、说明书(实用新型说明书中没有附图)或者权利要求书,或者外观设计专利申请中没有请求的、图画或照片,或简要说明;

第四十条

说明书中有附图说明,但省略附图或者部分附图的,申请人应当在国务院专利行政部门规定的期限内提供附图或者声明删除附图说明。申请人在以后提交附图的,以向国务院专利行政部门提交或者邮寄的日期为申请日;删去附图说明的,保留原申请日。

第五十二条

对发明或者实用新型专利申请的说明书或者权利要求书进行修改的,应当提交规定格式的替换页,但仅涉及少量文字的变更、插入或者删除的除外。对外观设计专利申请的附图或者照片进行修改的,应当按照规定补交。

第六十九条

发明或者实用新型专利权人不得修改其说明书或者附图,外观设计专利权人不得修改其附图、照片或者外观设计的简要说明。

第一百零四条 

申请人依照本细则第一百零三条规定办理进入中国国家阶段手续的,应当符合下列条件:

(5) 以外文提交国际申请的,提交摘要的中文译文,有附图的还提交附图的复印件和摘要的附图复印件,其中附图文字如有,以相应的中文文字代替;国际申请以中文提交的,提交国际公布文件中的摘要副本和摘要附图副本;

第一百一十三条

申请人发现所提交的说明书、权利要求书或者附图中的文字内容的中文译文有错误的,可以按照提交的国际申请,在下列期限内更正译文:

第一百二十一条 

各类申请文件应当打字或者打印,文字全部用黑色墨水书写,整齐清晰,不得涂改。图纸应借助制图工具用黑色墨水绘制,线条应粗细均匀,轮廓分明,不得有任何改动。

请求书、说明书、权利要求书、附图和摘要应分别用阿拉伯数字编号,并按数字顺序排列。

China National Intellectual Property Administrations (CNIPA)

Rules for illustrating patent drawings for China filing should be based on "Rules for the Implementation of the Patent Law of the People's Republic of China"
Below are the important articles related to illustrating patent drawings.

 


Article 17

  •  The description of an application for a patent for invention or a patent for utility model shall state the title of the invention or utility model, which shall be the same as it appears in the request. The description shall include the following:

  • ....

  • (4) explanatory notes of drawings: briefly describing each figure in the drawings, if any; and

  • (5) mode of carrying out the invention or utility model: describing in detail the optimally selected mode contemplated by the applicant for carrying out the invention or utility model; where appropriate, this shall be done in terms of examples, and with reference to the drawings, if any.

  • ....

  • The description of an application for a patent for a utility model shall include the drawings showing the shape, structure or their combination of the product for which protection is sought.

Article 18

  • The drawings of an invention or utility model shall be numbered and arranged in numerical order consecutively as “Figure 1, Figure 2, …”.

  • Reference signs not mentioned in the text of the description of the invention or utility model shall not appear in the drawings, and reference signs not included in the drawings shall not be referred to in the text of the description. Reference signs for the same composite part shall be used consistently throughout the application document.

  • The drawings shall not contain any other explanatory notes, except for words that are indispensable.

Article 19

  • The scientific and technical terms used in the claims shall be consistent with those used in the description, and the claims may contain chemical or mathematical formulae but no drawings. They shall not, except where absolutely necessary, contain such references to the description or drawings as: “as described in part… of the description”, or “as illustrated in Figure… of the drawings”.

  • The technical features mentioned in the claims may, in order to facilitate understanding of the claims, make reference to the corresponding reference signs in the drawings of the description, and such reference signs shall follow the corresponding technical features and be placed in parentheses. The reference signs shall not be construed as limiting the claims.

Article 23

The abstract of the description may contain the chemical formula which best characterizes the invention; in an application for a patent that contains drawings, the applicant shall provide a figure which best characterizes the technical features of the invention or utility model. The scale and the distinctness of the figure shall be as such that a reproduction with a linear reduction in size to 4cm × 6cm would still enable all details to be clearly distinguished. The text of the abstract shall contain not more than 300 words. There shall be no commercial advertising in the abstract.

Article 27

  • Where an applicant seeks the protection of colours, drawings or photographs in colour shall be submitted.

  • The applicant shall, in respect of the subject matter of the product incorporating the design which is in need of protection, submit the relevant drawings or photographs.

Article 28

The brief explanation of a design shall indicate the title and use of the product incorporating the design and the essential feature of the design, and designate a drawing or photograph which best shows the essential feature of the design. Where the view of the product incorporating the design is omitted or where concurrent protection of colours is sought, this shall be indicated in the brief explanation.

Article 31

....

Where an applicant claims a right of foreign priority for his or its application for a patent for a design, and no brief explanation of the design was contained in the earlier application, he or it shall not be adversely affected for enjoying the right of priority if the brief explanation submitted by the applicant in accordance with the provisions of Article 28 of these Rules does not go beyond the scope as shown in the drawings or photographs of the earlier application.

....

Article 35

....

Where two or more designs are filed as one application, they shall be numbered consecutively and the numbers shall precede the titles of the drawings or photographs of the product incorporating the design.

....

Article 38

Upon the receipt of an application for a patent for invention or utility model consisting of a request, a description (drawings must be included in an application for a utility model) and one or more claims, or an application for a patent for a design consisting of a request, one or more drawings or photographs showing the design and a brief explanation, the patent administration department of the State Council shall accord the date of filing, issue a filing number, and notify the applicant.

 

Article 39

In any of the following circumstances, the patent administration department of the State Council shall refuse to accept the application and notify the applicant accordingly:

(1) where the application for a patent for invention or utility model does not contain a request, a description (the description of a utility model does not contain drawings) or claims, or the application for a patent for design does not contain a request, drawings or photographs, or a brief explanation;

Article 40

Where there are explanatory notes to the drawings in a description, but the drawings or part of the drawings are omitted, the applicant shall, within the time limit specified by the patent administration department of the State Council, either furnish the drawings or make a declaration for the deletion of the explanatory notes to the drawings. If the drawings are submitted by the applicant at a later date, the date of their submission or mailing to the patent administration department of the State Council shall be the date of filing of the application; if the explanatory notes to the drawings are deleted, the initial date of filing shall be retained.

Article 52

When any amendment is made to the description or the claims in an application for a patent for invention or utility model, a replacement sheet in prescribed form shall be submitted, unless the amendment concerns only the alteration, insertion or deletion of a few words. Where an amendment to the drawings or photographs of an application for a patent for design is made, a replacement sheet shall be submitted as prescribed.

Article 69

The patentee for a patent for invention or utility model concerned shall not amend his or its description or drawings, and the patentee for a patent for design concerned shall not amend his or its drawings, photographs or the brief explanation of the design.

Article 104 

Where the applicant goes through the formalities for entering the Chinese national phase in accordance with the provisions of Article 103 of these Rules, he or it shall meet the following requirements:

(5) where an international application is filed in a foreign language, submitting the Chinese translation of the abstract and submitting a copy of the drawings and a copy of the drawing of the abstract if there are drawings and the drawing of the abstract, in which the text matter of the drawings, if any, shall be replaced by the corresponding text matter in Chinese; where the international application is filed in Chinese, submitting a copy of the abstract and a copy of the drawing of the abstract which are contained in the documents of the international publication;

Article 113

Where the applicant finds that there are mistakes in the Chinese translation of the description, the claims or the text matter in the drawings as submitted, he or it may correct the translation within the following time limits in accordance with the international application as filed:

Article 121 

Various kinds of application documents shall be typed or printed, and all the characters shall be in black ink, neat and clear, and free from any alterations. The drawings shall be made in black ink with the aid of drafting instruments, and the lines shall be uniformly thick and well defined, and free from any alterations.

The request, description, claims, drawings and abstract shall be numbered separately in Arabic numerals and arranged in numerical order.