2. 图纸描绘的基础

大多数应受《外观设计法》保护的物品都是三维形状的。但是,在就三维形式提出外观设计注册申请时,申请人必须在二维平面上描绘的图纸中表示它,等等。换言之,外观设计权的客体不是真实的三维形状,而是在这种二维图纸上描绘的三维形状。因此,对绘制方法进行了详细的定义,以便第三方也能正确理解作为权利客体的形式。因此,为了正确理解作为外观设计权的客体的形式,需要按照制定的绘图方法描绘图纸等。还必须描绘必要的图纸,以便将作为外观设计权客体的整个形式理解为指定用于外观设计注册。此外,在必要时需要描绘有助于理解设计的视图(用于说明形式或使用状态的图纸,其中添加了不构成申请中设计的线条等)表示为“yy 的参考视图”,以区别于仅描述申请中设计元素的附图)。

A.指定表格所需的图纸

2A.1 表格中绘制的图纸类型和需要注意的基本点

(1) 指定表格所需的图纸类型

(i) 3D 形状的外观设计,原则上是在正投影法相同比例尺,视作一组图(以下简称“一组六幅图”),需准备。 (表格6注(8))

(ii) 设计为三维形状的情况下,可以用等距投影法或斜投影法制作图纸(全部或部分图纸),而不是一组六张上述观点。 (表格6注(9))

(iii) 外观设计为扁平且薄的物品的情况下,需要准备一组由相同比例的正面图和背面图组成的图纸。 (表格6注(10))

(iv) 在上述附图不足以表示形式的情况下,需要添加其他类型的附图,例如剖视图、放大图、透视图等(这些附图也可视为必要的)图纸)。 (表格6注(14))

(v) 也可以提交代表设计的照片、模型或样本,而不是一组六个视图。

请参阅第二部分关于注册的部分外观设计,其中要求对物品的一部分进行外观设计注册,以及关于在省略对连续形状的物品部分的描绘时如何描绘图纸的第三部分(省略中间部分)。

(2) 制图注意事项

(i) 实线或虚线的粗细约为 0.4 毫米,斜平行线或显示横截面的点划线的粗细约为 0.2 毫米。 (表格6注(5))

(ii) 每个视图(前视图、后视图、参考视图)必须以 150 毫米(宽)x 113 毫米(高)的矩形表示。 (表格6注(6))

(iii) 图形(不包括参考视图)不得包含中心线、基线、水平线、细线或表示阴影的阴影、指示线、代码或用于说明内容的字符,也不得包含任何其他线条、代码或字符不构成设计。 (表格No.6注(7))(关于“阴影”,请参阅“2A.5(8)“阴影”指定三维物体的表面形状”)例如,在图中看到的隐藏线工程图纸(代表内部或背面形状的虚线,不可见)不得包含在必要的视图中。

(iv) 在为经常使用的前后、上下不能互换的物品准备图纸时,最好描绘从该方向看到的物品的图纸。

(v) 部分观点可以用照片代替。然而,在这种情况下,即使是黑白照片也会显示文章每个部分的阴影。因此,照片可能与仅描绘形状的视图不一致,这可能会导致将设计视为未指定。因此,申请人需要注意保证照片和图纸的一致性。请注意,不允许将线条图和照片组合在一起准备视图(请参阅“C. 图纸替换”)。

2A.2 正投影法制图

通过正交投影法,通过将与相邻面正交的六个面投影到二维平面上来描绘三维形状的形式,如前视图、后视图、左视图、右侧视图、顶视图和底视图。与日本工业标准(JIS)的“技术图纸”中规定的正投影相同,只是JIS的“技术图纸”中不得包含隐藏线。如图 1.2-1 所示,每个表面上看到的形状线条、图案、颜色都被描绘为每个视图的一部分。

(1) 正投影法制图的注意事项

(i) 每个视图必须以相同的比例准备。

(ii) 在下列情况下,可以省略一组六个视图中的一些。

・如果前视图和后视图相同或相互镜像,则可以省略后视图。

・如果左侧视图和右侧视图相同或相互镜像,则可以省略任一侧视图。

・如果俯视图和仰视图相同或互为镜像,则可以省略仰视图。请注意,需要在【外观设计说明】一栏中注明“由于与前视图呈镜像,后视图被省略”。

2A.3 等角投影法和斜投影法制图

等距投影法和斜投影法是能够在一个视图中描绘内容的绘图方法,对应于通过正交投影法以相同比例制备的一组六个视图中的三个视图。如下图所示,六个面中的三个面显示在一个视图中,因此有八种显示方式。通过从这八种视图中选择两种,申请人可以描述整个六个表面。例如,如果选择[显示前、上和右侧的视图]和[显示后、下和左侧的视图]等两个视图,则可以表示整个六个表面。

2. Basics of the Depiction in Drawings

Most of the articles that shall be subject to protection under the Design Act are in the form of a three-dimensional shape. However, when filing an application for design registration concerning a three-dimensional form, applicants must represent it in drawings depicted on a two-dimensional plane, and so on. In other words, the object of a design right is not a real three-dimensional shape, but a three-dimensional form depicted on such two-dimensional drawings. Therefore, the drawing methods are defined in detail so that the third party may also correctly understand the form, which is the object of the right. Thus, it is necessary to depict drawings, etc. according to the formulated drawing methods so that the form, which is the object of a design right, may be understood correctly. It is also necessary to depict necessary drawings so that the entire form, which is the object of a design right, may be understood as being specified for design registration. In addition, views that help in the understanding the design need to be depicted, where necessary (Drawings for explaining the form or the state of use, in which lines, etc. that do not constitute the design in the application are added, shall be indicated as “Reference view of yy” to be distinguished from the drawings that depict only constitute elements of the design in the application).

A.Drawings necessary for specifying the form

2A.1 Types of drawing formulated in the Form and basic points to be noted

(1) The types of drawings necessary for specifying the form

(i) In cases where the design in the form of a three-dimensional shape, in principle, the front view, the rearview, the left side view, the right side view, the top view and the bottom view that have been prepared at the same scale by the orthographic projection method, regarded as a set of drawings (hereinafter referred to as “a set of six views), need to be prepared. (Form No. 6 Note (8))

(ii) In cases where the design is in the form of a three-dimensional shape, it is possible to prepare drawings (all or part of the drawings) by the isometric projection method or the oblique projection method, instead of a set of six views as mentioned above. (Form No. 6 Note (9))

(iii) In cases where the design is in the form of a flat and thin article, it is necessary to prepare a set of drawings composed of a surface view and a backside view prepared at the same scale. (Form No. 6 Note (10))

(iv) In cases where the drawings mentioned above are not sufficient to represent the form, other types of drawings such as a sectional view, an enlarged view, a perspective view and others need to be added (These drawings can also be regarded as necessary drawings). (Form No. 6 Note (14))

(v) It is also possible to submit a photograph, a model or a specimen that represent the design, instead of a set of six views.

Please see Part II with regard to partial designs for registration, in which a part of an article is requested for design registration, and to Part III with regard to how to depict drawings when omitting depiction of a part of the article with a continuous shape (omitting the middle part).

(2) Points to be noted in preparing drawings

(i) The thickness of a solid line or a broken line must be approximately 0.4 mm, and that of an oblique parallel line or a chain line that shows cross section must be approximately 0.2 mm. (Form No. 6 Note (5))

(ii) Each view (the front view, the rear view, the reference view) must be depicted in the 150 mm (W) x 113 mm (H) rectangular. (Form No. 6 Note (6))

(iii) A figure (excluding a reference view) must not contain a centerline, baseline, horizontal line, fine line or shading to express shadows, indication line, code or character to explain the contents, nor any other line, code or character which does not constitute the design. (Form No.6 Note (7)) (As for “shades,” please see “2A. 5(8) “Shades” specifying the surface shape of a three-dimensional object”) For example, a hidden-line seen in engineering drawings (a broken line that represents the internal or back-side shape which is not outwardly visible) must not be contained in a necessary view.

(iv) When preparing drawings for an article whose front and rear, and whose top and bottom are not interchangeable on a regular use basis, it is desirable to depict a drawing of the article seen from such direction.

(v) Part of the views can be replaced with photographs. In such cases, however, even black and white photographs show shading of each part of an article. Due to this, the photographs may not be consistent with the views that depict the shape alone, which may cause to regard the design as being not specified. Therefore, applicants need to pay attention to ensure consistency between photographs and drawings. Please note that it is not allowed to prepare a view by combining a lined drawing and a photograph (Please see “C. Substitution for drawings”).

2A.2 Preparing drawings by the orthographic projection method

Through the orthographic projection method, the form of a three-dimensional shape is depicted by projecting six surfaces, each of which is orthogonal to its neighboring surface, onto the two dimensional plane, as the front view, the rear view, the left side view, the right side view, the top view and the bottom view. It is the same as the orthographic projection prescribed in “Technical Drawings” of the Japanese Industrial Standards (JIS), except that JIS’s “Technical Drawings” must not contain hidden lines. As shown in Figure 1.2-1, shape lines, patterns, colors seen on each surface are depicted as part of each view.

(1) Points to be noted when preparing drawings by the orthographic projection method

(i) Each view must be prepared at the same scale.

(ii) In the following cases, some of a set of six views can be omitted.

・If the front view and the rear view are identical or mirror image to each other, the rear view can be omitted.

・If the left side view and the right side view are identical or mirror image to each other, either of the side views can be omitted.

・If the top view and the bottom view are identical or mirror image to each other, the bottom view can be omitted. Please note that it is necessary to make a statement to the effect that “The rear view is omitted due to being mirror image to the front view” in the column of [Description of the Design].

2A.3 Preparing drawings by the isometric projection method and the oblique projection method

The isometric projection method and the oblique projection method are the drawing methods that enable for depicting the contents, in one view, corresponding to three views out of a set of six views that are prepared at the same scale by the orthographic projection method. As shown below, three surfaces out of six surfaces are displayed in one view, and therefore, there are eight ways to display them. By choosing two out of such eight types of views, applicants can describe the whole six surfaces. For example, if you choose two views such as [View showing the front, top and right side] and [View showing the rear, bottom and left side], the whole six surfaces can be represented.